We’re going to Venice!

imageThis coming Thursday, my boyfriend Scott and I are off to Venice, Italy for the weekend. He doesn’t know where we’re going it’s his birthday present surprise. I’m going to make him guess from the departure board then give him a guide book for the plane! I can’t believe I’ve managed to keep it a secret for this long and not spill!

I’ve made a few plans but I’ve read so often that Venice is best explored unplanned and off the beaten path. So aside from these plans I’m leaving it all down to Scott and a good old wander.

Thursday:

Our flight gets into Treviso airport at 9:20 then we have to get to Venice itself. I’ve read there are plenty of buses or trains so we will just figure it out when we get there. Our hotel is in the Cannaregio area so once we arrive we have the rest of the day to explore. I’m hoping to do St Marks Square and Doges Palace on Thursday as it will probably be less busy than any other day.

Friday:

I have made plans for the whole of this day starting with a morning boat tour to Murano, Burano and Torcello. This includes a quick stop on each island. I’m looking forward to this because we wouldn’t have time to visit each island properly during this trip so I’d like to have a quick glimpse. Then we are going to get the vapporetto to Lido and spend the rest of the day on the beach.

Saturday:

Absolutely no plans for this day, hoping for a wander and to do whatever Scott chooses. Hopefully a romantic gondola and lots of gelato!

Sunday:

Our flight home is at 4pm so we will only have the morning left in Venice. Perhaps some souvenir shopping or a big breakfast.

Have you been to Venice? What are your top tips on things to do, places to eat and where to see?

2 thoughts on “We’re going to Venice!

  1. Your plans sound perfect! I’m sure your boyfriend will be freaking out when you’re getting there! Even my other half loved it. Be prepared, it will be really really hot. Burano is really nice, I loved it there, all those cute Little brightly painted houses and for sure you will make all three Islands in one day easily!

    Just one tip for Doges Palace. If you buy your ticket one day before going there at their ticket office, you avoid standing in line for hours.. Maybe you can make that on Sunday Morning… But it depends, maybe it’s not to full on Thursday. But if, they’re open until 11pm, so you can get the tickets easily in the evening for Sunday.

    Enjoy Venice, you’ll love it!

    Xo, Paula, http://www.paulahandrickblog.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

